Snorkeling in Djibouti

 

Boat 5

Port of Djibouti is in the background- you can spot the one and only Djibouti skyscraper

This past weekend, I went on my first excursion in Djibouti. I continue to hear of the colorful coral reefs Djibouti’s coast is decorated with. So, I thought it was my turn to evaluate it.

IMG_4323

Shark Island

Word of mouth is the best way to go in terms of excursions. I found a really cheap tour group, Dolphin Excursions. It cost me $80 to go on their boat from 7 am- 5 pm. They had  enough water to keep me hydrated for a week, coffee in the morning, fed me a giant lunch, and some beverages for the way back. They had scuba and snorkeling gear.

Screen Shot 2016-06-04 at 6.08.30 PM.png

Djibouti City is labeled- if you go west inward, towards the indent along the coast line, that is where I snorkeled.

We boated an hour and a half west, inward to Red Island in the morning and then Shark Island in the afternoon. I saw a baby and adult sting ray, an eel, a crab, swam with a few schools of fish, and bountiful coral.

Soon I hope to buy a cheap underwater camera to capture the beauty under the sea. For now, you will have to be entertained by the above-water moments I took. Don’t be disillusioned by the lack of color on Djibouti’s coast- trust there are many colors decorating the sea floor.

-Bills

 

Leave a Reply

